or 2876 Nukes!

For the purchase of this item you'll receive
58 Nukes! Info about Nukes!-Points

HAMMERFALL - (r)Evolution
add to cart
  • CD - $11.99
  • 192420
    (Current item)
    CD - $11.99
  • Item number:103376
  • format:CD
  • Genre:Heavy / Power / True Metal
  • Availability:


More info

The career of Swedish heavy metal pioneers HAMMERFALL is one amazing march of triumph. After revolutionizing the genre by the end of the 90s, the Gothenburg based quintet released a total of eight studio albums, several compilations, live-releases and toured the globe relentlessly. Right after celebrating the 15th anniversary of their legendary debut “Glory To The Brave”, the band announced they would be taking a creative break in 2013, only to treat the fans with the highly acclaimed live DVD “Gates Of Dalhalla” in late 2012.
“Absence makes the heart grow fonder,” commented guitarist Oscar Dronjak. Following their short sabatical, the legendary Scandinavian five piece wrapped up “(r) Evolution”, Hammerfall’s ninth full length release.
With the creation of “(r)Evolution”, not only has HAMMERFALL reclaiming their rightful place on top of the metal globe, but also taking things back to the roots in many ways. Once again the band has had production duties handled by none other than Fredrik Nordström, who helmed their two milestone releases “Glory To The Brave” and “Legacy Of Kings” in the early years of the band’s history. “The last time we worked with Fredrik Nordström was back in 1998, so it’s definitely been a while! Fredrik was a very vital component in making the album sound the way it does, and I think it was the perfect match once again”, states Dronjak.
Recordings for “(r)Evolution” took place in March and April 2014 at guitarist Oscar Dronjak’s Castle Black Studios. Vocalist Joacim Cans went to the United States for vocal recordings, working with James Michael (SCORPIONS, MÖTLEY CRÜE etc.), who also did a great job on the “(r)Evolution” predecessor “Infected”.
About the meaning of the title “(r)Evolution”, Dronjak states: “The name comes from the second remake of the Planet Of The Apes movie, “Rise of…”. In Swedish, it was called “Apornas Planet: (r)Evolution.”, and the name stuck with me ever since I saw (and loved!) the movie. It seems like a fitting title for this album, since that’s how I view it: we’ve taken everything that makes HammerFall HammerFall and evolved it. So I guess the revolution is that we’ve gone back to basics a little, yet still are moving forward.”
Yet another return has the band reunited with cover artist Andreas Marschall, the creator of HAMMERFALL’s mascot Hector, who first appeared on the band’s debut record and is now back on the front cover of “(r)Evolution”. The beautiful artwork features all the traits that made the Andreas Marschall HAMMERFALL covers so beautiful and special.

Track list
01. Hector’s Hymn
02. (r)Evolution
03. Bushido
04. Live Life Loud
05. Ex Inferis
06. We Won’t Back Down
Show all Tracks
Customers who bought this item also bought
Page of