Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Follow on Instagram Follow on YouTube Follow on Spotify

Founded in 1996, the Melodic-Death-Metal band 'INFERIOR BREED' changed its name two years later for 'SOILWORK'. With their first two albums were they already crowned with success, creating something very special in the scene, adding clear vocal melodies and unique piano parts into their music!

The album ''A Predator’s Portrait'' was released in 2001 via Nuclear Blast as the band knew a global breakthrough. In just one year produced they a new effort called ''Natural Born Chaos'', followed by ''Figure Number Five'' in 2003.

The band was then full of will and energy, preparing their new release ''Stabbing The Drama'' in 2005, followed by a tour. But the guitarist and songwriter Peter Wichers left shortly the band afterwards in order to reorient himself professionally. The session drummer Dirk Verbeuren became a full-time member and the guitarist Daniel Antonsson joined the band in 2007.

In the same year, ''Sworn To A Great Divide'' was released and reached the place #148 of the Billboard Charts during the first weeks. The guitarist Olaf Frenning left in spring 2008 and was replaced by David Andersson for the rest of the tour. In September, Peter Wichers came back to SOILWORK, as Daniel Antonsson left the band, replaced by Sylvain Coudret.

The first album with Sylvain Coudret ''The Panic Broadcast'' was released in 2010.

The first double album ''The Living Infinite'' came out on 8 March 2013, produced by Jens Bogren (OPETH, AMON AMARTH).

The band went on an extensive tour during the following years. The special show in Helsinki (21.03.14) in the finnish Circus Club was filmed and released in 2015 under the name ''Live In The Heart Of Helsinki''. Special guests like Floor Jansen and Nathan J. Biggs feature during the show.

The band successfully released their tenth album »The Ride Majestic« in 2015, which has been recorded at the Gröndal studios with David Castillo and then produced and mixed by Jens Bogren at the Fascination Street studios.

In 2016, the band released a special collection of rarities under the moniker »Death Resonance«, It delivered two brand new tracks as well as rarely released songs of the past 11 years, going back until their opus magnum, »Stabbing The Drama«. Besides delivering more than 60 minutes of new and rare SOILWORK tunes, »Death Resonance« also featured liner notes by the band as well as unreleased promo and live photos from the mentioned era.

The official ''The Ride Majestic Tour'' went on massively for more than two years and finally made its way to a strong Scandinavian finale in the fall of 2017.

Right now SOILWORK is working hard to complete the recording of their upcoming album »Verkligheten«, which will be released in 2019. It is the Swedish word for reality. The recordings are taking place at Nordic Sound Lab studios in Skara with producer Thomas “Plec” Johansson. The album will be the first one to feature the addition of Bastian Thusgaard (drums). Thusgaard took over for longtime member Dirk Verbeuren, who left the band in 2016 to play with MEGADETH.

Bjorn "Speed" Strid (Vocals)
David Andersson (Lead / Rhythm guitar)
Sylvain Coudret (Lead / Rhythm guitar)
Sven Karlsson (keyboards/samples)
Bastian Thusgaard (Drums)