Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Follow on Instagram Follow on YouTube Follow on Spotify

"New York death metal legends Suffocation unleash their ninth full-length album, Hymns from the Apocrypha, via Nuclear Blast. The follow-up to ...of the Dark Light (2017) pushes founder Terrance Hobbs (guitars), Derek Boyer (bass), Charles Errigo (guitars), Eric Morotti (drums), and newcomer Ricky Myers (vocals) to the very edges of extremity. Standout tracks ""Seraphim Enslavement,"" ""Perpetual Deception,"" and ""Delusions of Mortality"" are emphatically Suffocation but are enhanced with what Hobbs calls ""progressive melodies."" The crushing title track, ""Immortal Execration,"" and the re-recording of ""Ignorant Deprivation,"" featuring former throat-man Frank Mullen, are brutal alms to death metal's heaving masses.

Suffocation were founded in Long Island, New York, in 1988. Since then, they released foundational classics like Effigy of the Forgotten (1991), Breeding the Spawn (1993), and Pierced from Within (1995), with post-reformation slabs of savagery Souls to Deny (2004), Suffocation (2006), and Pinnacle of Bedlam (2013) proving death metal was not only Suffocation's to own but that it also continued to be a viable art form, all three albums earning accolades at Metal Injection, Decibel, and Deaf Forever.

New album Hymns from the Apocrypha isn't merely another album from the New Yorkers but a statement of intent. Suffocation always have been and are here to slay. Superbly co-produced by Christian Donaldson (Beneath the Massacre, Ingested) and featuring stunning cover art by Greek illustrator Giannis Nakos (Vomitory, The Crown), Hymns from the Apocrypha demonstrates Suffocation leveling up as they head into their 35th Anniversary. Suffocation are as uncompromisingly brutal, artistically gutsy, and aurally heavy as ever. Death metal or die!"


Derek Boyer (Bass)
Terrance Hobbs (Guitar)
Charles Errigo (Guitar)
Frank Mullen (Vocals)
Eric Morotti (Drums)