Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Follow on Instagram Follow on YouTube Follow on Spotify

The amazing artwork from the self-titled debut album "Wintersun", courtesy of Necrolord already gives you a hint where this act might come from, exactly, Finland! Hailing from the land of the thousand lakes where the winters are long and cold, WINTERSUN is the new project of singer and multi instrumentalist Jari Mäenpäa, who recently left his former band ENSIFERUM.

Powerful and majestic with a lot of energy, the music of WINTERSUN mainly flows with great melodies influenced by folk and Scandinavian traditional music. If you enjoy bands like AMORPHIS (in their early days), CHILDREN OF BODOM, FINNTROLL or ENSIFERUM, "Wintersun" is the right choice for you! Lyrically the album deals with mastermind Jari's life, feelings, emotions, hallucinations and dreams, facts that make the record a very personal piece of work. Beside Jari, drummer Kai Hahto from the Finish Grindcore/Death Metal band ROTTEN SOUND playes on "Wintersun" and provided the album with a hellish pummelling in all of the right parts. The rest – vocals, guitars, bass and programming – was done completely by the perfectionist Mäenpäa.

They both managed to create a diversified song spectrum from speed metal tracks over heavy guitar tracks to bombastic mid tempo opuses. While fast songs like opener 'Beyond The Dark Sun' and 'Winter Madness' stress out the high technical abilities of WINTERSUN, epic songs with big choruses like 'Sleeping Stars' and 'Death And The Healing' show the unique feeling of Jari for emotional and melancholic melodies. The vocals always fit perfectly to the present mood – Jari masters everything, no matter if you take melodic clean vocals, brutal screams or Viking-like chants. Currently WINTERSUN are searching for band members to be able to play live concerts. And you can be sure: As soon as Jari and Kai have completed their line-up, you'll get a pure feast of Finish Metal also on stage! WINTERSUN is epic Melodic Death Metal once more over the top!

The band wanted to increase their success after the release of "Wintersun" with a new album. After a few years of hard work on new material the album Time I was released in October 2012. Because of the very extensive elements, the whole works of the “time saga” is split in the two individual albums" Time I" and "Time II".

Now - after another 5 years - WINTERSUN return with their 3rd studio album entitled »The Forest Seasons«. Its release is accompanied by a massive crowdfunding campaign the band set up to finance their planned WINTERSUN headquarters. After finishing this Indiegogo campaign with an impressive amount of several hundreds of thousands euros, the band also confirmed their new guitar player Asim Searah, who will play his live debut at this year’s summer festivals.

Jari Mäenpää (vocals (studio guitars & programming))
Kai Hahto (drums)
Jukka Koskinen (bass)
Teemu Mäntysaari (guitars)
Asim Searah (guitars)