Sort by
Sorry, there are no products in this collection

To/Die/For had a contract with Nuclear Blast in 2000. During this time, they released the following album:

• Farewell (2000, EP)
• In The Heat Of The Night (2000, EP)

This Kouvola, Finland-based quintet originally began life as the oddly titled Mary-Ann. They released a few self-financed mini CDs under this moniker, which helped them secure a deal with Finland's Spinefarm Records. After a slight line-up and name change, they released All Eternity (their debut album) in 1999. Immediately seeing the potential and appeal for gothic rock fans, Nuclear Blast quickly licensed the record for European territories outside of Finland.

The band toured Europe with the underground metal elite: In Flames, Sentenced and Dark Tranquillity. The twenty-eight-show tour exposed To/Die/For to an all-new range of fans, effectively expanding their fan base beyond the gothic rock crowd. Word began to filter across the Atlantic after the album and tour garnered them favorable press, and underground music fans in North America (where the record never saw a domestic release) began to notice the band. Despite having reached their most critical success in their short career, the band suffered a setback when bassist Miikka Kuisma left after the tour. The band rebounded quickly by hiring former Mary-Ann bassist Marko Kangaskolkka. His familiarity with the band's attitude and music made him an ideal candidate for the vacated slot.

Shortly after solidifying the new line-up, To/Die/For began work on their sophomore effort, Epilogue (mixed by the renowned Mikko Karmila [Amorphis, Children of Bodom, Nightwish] at Finnvox Studios). Released in Europe earlier this year, Epilogue marks the band's debut in North America. Spurred on by the single "Hollow Heart" (which went to the top of the Finnish charts), Epilogue features appearances by such Finnish artists as Sinergy's (Nuclear Blast) Marco Hietala and Lullacry's (Century Media) femme fatale Tanja. This talent combined with To/Die/For's catchy, gothic songs creates an album of undeniable melancholy mixed with melodic pop songs sure to stick with if not in your heart. Epilogue surely an album to die for!

Jape Perätalo (vocals)
Joonas Koto (lead guitars)
J.P. Sutela (guitars)
Marko Kangaskolkka (bass)
Tonmi Lillmann (drums)