Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Follow on YouTube Follow on Spotify

A lot of infamous metal bands like HIM came up from the gothic metal scene of the Finnish underground, but in 1990 a further musical talent arose: The 69 Eyes, in persons of Jyrki 69 (vocals), Bazie and Timo-Timo (guitarists), Archzie (bassist) and Jussi 69 (drums), was born.

The Finnish label Gaga Goodies Records became aware of the newcomers and offered the band their first recording contract. With this label the band released their first four albums
“Bump’n’Grind“, “Motor City Resurrection“, “Savage Garden“ and “Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams“, between 1992 and 1997. All this albums are standing in context with typical elements of gothic rock only discreetly. After The 69 Eyes changed to Roadrunner Records, they also changed their music style.

With the album “Wasting The Dawn” the band celebrated their first chart position and the correspondent single at the Finnish single charts in 5th position. In time for the new millennium The 69 Eyes released the album “Blessed Be”, which was produced in cooperation with Ville Valo. This album also entered the Top 10 of the charts. The especially successful song “Gothic Girl” that was played in many different clubs. Two years later the guys released “Paris Kills”.

For the first time the band climbed the summit of the Finish album charts and the single “Dance d’ Amour” was on the top of the Finish single charts for many weeks. In winter 2003 they released their best of compilation “Framed In Blood – The Very Blessed Of The 69 Eyes“ and they produced their first live DVD “Helsinki Vampires”. They also changed their label again to Major EMI which released the album “Devils“, that was formed in teamwork with Johnny Lee Michaels and Hiili Hiilesmaa, in 2004.

Until 2007 The 69 Eyes didn’t ever relaxe at all and went on tour in more than 16 countries. By the way they produced enough material for their new album “Angels”. Afterwards the album “Angels & Devils“ with an extra DVD just as the live album “Hollywood Kills – Live At The Whiskey A Go Go” followed. In the end of 2008 the band released an ambitious produced box with a DVD and thee albums. The already produced CDs “Blessed be” and “Paris kills” were recorded new and got some bonus tracks, while the third album "Goth'n'Roll Archives“ exists by some demos and not released songs until there.

In August 2009 they released their album “Back In Blood”.

The 10th The 69 EYES album "X" was recorded in the beginning of 2012 in Stockholm and Helsinki. It was mixed by Stefan Boman (KENT, THE HELLACOPTERS, BACKYARD BABIES) and produced by Swedish team On The Verge. It takes THE 69 EYES’ goth ’n’ roll sound back to their highlights of their albums “Paris Kills” and “Blessed Be”, yet rising the singer Jyrki’s voice as the main statement of the album. The man in black is back. THE 69 EYES rise. Again.

Entering 2015, THE 69 EYES just announced the release of »The Best Of Helsinki Vampires«, a full best-of collection, spanning a quarter of a century of band history. From the early days of fame with »Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams« (1997), to the stardom of the latter years with »Devils« (2004) and »Back In Blood« (2009), »The Best Of Helsinki Vampires« features 28 tracks and will be out on April 10, 2015 via Nuclear Blast.

Additionally THE 69 EYES will re-release »Devils« (2004), »Angels« (2007) as well as »Paris Kills« (2002) as a special edition. Each re-release will include the original album track listing plus three bonus tracks and will also be out on April 10, 2015 via Nuclear Blast.

The title of the new 12th studio album, which was released on April 2016, is »Universal Monsters« and it contains eleven brand-new Finnish gothic hymns. There will be five individual covers.
“The covers are planned and designed as an old-school CD covers - remember when the booklets used to be as exciting as the album itself?! It will actually have five different covers being such a folder - each member of the band can be used as a cover creature of their own. THE 69 EYES are the universal rock ’n’ roll monsters - not so many of us left anymore,”

Jyrki 69 (Vocals)
Bazie (Guitar)
Timo-Timo (Guitar)
Archzie (Bass)
Jussi 69 (Drums)